Mount Pleasant, IA – September 16, 2022 — Iowa Wesleyan University will present the 2022 Distinguished Alumni and Alumni Service Awards and induct one member into the Iowa Wesleyan Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, October 1 at 6 pm. The ceremony will take place in the Social Hall of the Howe Student Activity Center during Homecoming Weekend. The public is welcome to attend the awards ceremony by purchasing tickets at

The 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented to Jackie Reszetar ’91.

Jackie Reszetar enlisted in the United States Army in 1992 and spent 21 years serving in public health roles within the military, including Environmental Health Technician and Environmental Science Officer Engineer, before retiring from the military as a Major in 2013. Reszetar continued to serve in public health roles, including becoming the Director of Environmental for the Southern Nevada Health District and serving on the Public Health Accreditation Board. Reszetar has since retired and now serves as an Epilepsy Center for Excellence, Anita Kaufmann Advocate for Epilepsy.

The 2022 Alumni Service Awards will be presented to Dave ’71 and Cathy (Garretson ’71) Helman.

Dave Helman worked with the United States Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons for 27 years, served as Associate Warden at federal prisons in West Virginia and Minnesota, and served as Warden in Minnesota and Illinois before retiring to Salem, Iowa, in 2001. Mr. Helman has since served as the Chairman of the Salem, Iowa Library Building Trust Fund; Chairman for four county Early Childhood Iowa Board of Directors; Chairman for Henry County Adjustment Board; and a member of Healthy Henry County Communities. Mr. Helman has also served as a chairman of the Henry County Democratic Party for nine years, led voter registration efforts on the IW campus, served annually as a Constitution Day speaker and organized the first satellite polling places at IW.

Cathy (Garretson) Helman served in public education for 28 years as an elementary classroom teacher for grades 1-4 and Title I Reading for grades 1-3 in West Virginia, Minnesota, and Illinois before retiring in 2008. Mrs. Helman has since served as President of the Friend of the Salem Crew Public Library and a member of the Salem Library Building Trust Fund. Mrs. Helman currently serves on the Lewelling Quaker Museum Board as Treasurer and docent, and she also continues to support DAR Community service projects in the James Harlan Chapter.

The 2022 Hall of Fame Inductee is Anna (Jones ’12) Zander.

Anna Zander was a two-time All-American at Iowa Wesleyan during a four-year career, making her one of the greatest players in the school’s long and distinguished history of playing women’s basketball. She was the second player in school history to receive NAIA First Team All-American honors and was a three-time First Team All-Midwest Collegiate Conference selection. Zander finished her career as the school’s all-time leader in assists and steals and also ranks fourth in school history in scoring and fifth in rebounding. She also was a member of three Tiger teams to advance to the NAIA National Tournament and, as a sophomore, was a starter on IW’s record-setting team that finished 27-8 and advanced to the Elite 8 at nationals.