Established in 2015, as part of the 2nd annual Belle Babb Mansfield Symposium at Iowa Wesleyan University, the Belle Babb Mansfield Award honors individuals who embody the legacy of Belle. Recipients are persons of strong social conscience whose leadership has enhanced their community’s cultural, educational, and social development. These individuals have made the world a better place and their actions challenge others to strive for greatness.


2020 Mansfield Award Recipient

Caryl M. Stern

2020 Belle Babb Mansfield Award Recipient

Executive Director of the Walton Family Foundation
Former President and CEO of UNICEF USA

As the Executive Director of the Walton Family Foundation, Caryl M. Stern oversees the organization’s work in three primary areas: improving K-12 education, protecting rivers and oceans and the communities they support, and investing in the Foundation’s home region of Northwest Arkansas and the Arkansas-Mississippi Delta. In 2018, the foundation awarded more than $595 million in grants to further its mission.

A dynamic change-maker, Caryl has dedicated her career to helping others through education, compassion, advocacy and rolling up her sleeves.

Angela Sadler Williamson, Mansfield Award Recipient

Dr. Angela Sadler Williamson

2019 Belle Babb Mansfield Award Recipient

Award Winning Filmmaker
Member of P.E.O. Chapter QU

Krysta Harden, Mansfield Award Recipient

Krysta Harden

2018 Belle Babb Mansfield Award Recipient

External Affairs Leaders and Chief Sustainability Officer, Corteva Agriscience™
Former United States Deputy Secretary of Agriculture

Lois Frels, Mansfield Award Recipient

Dr. Lois Frels

2016 Belle Babb Mansfield Award Recipient

Founder of the Iowa Wesleyan Department of Nursing
Founder of the Dr. Lois Frels Nursing Hall of Fame

Waunita Hobbie, Mansfield Award Recipient

Dr. Waunita Hobbie

2015 Belle Babb Mansfield Award Recipient

First Female Licensed Insurance Agent in Henry County, Iowa
Longest Serving Trustee of Henry County Health Center Board of Trustees

2015 Mansfield Award Recipient

Dr. Christie Vilsack

2015 Belle Babb Mansfield Award Recipient

Senior Advisor for International
Education, USAID
Former First Lady of Iowa

Belle Mansfield Text

Leadership Team

Mary Elgar `75
Meg Richtman
Sara Titus
Anna Villareal
Dr. Christie Vilsack, L.H.D. `99